Conseil d'administration

Headshots / image

David Pfeifer | Chaise

Denver, CO
David est diplômé du Collège de design, d'architecture, d'art et de planification de l'Université de Cincinnati. Il est président d'Anderson Mason Dale Architects à Denver. Au cours de ses 25 années au sein de l'entreprise, il a dirigé des équipes concevant un large éventail de projets mettant l'accent sur les installations scientifiques et de recherche universitaires et collégiales, dont certaines ont remporté des prix pour leur conception exceptionnelle. L'épouse de David, Cathy, a reçu un diagnostic de DFT en 2014 à l'âge de 47 ans. David a placé Cathy dans une résidence-services au début de 2016, et elle est décédée en décembre 2016. Leurs enfants avaient alors 17, 15 et 13 ans. Hôte et collaborateur de plusieurs événements AFTD de Denver, ainsi que de notre Hope Rising Benefit et d'autres efforts nationaux, David apporte à l'AFTD une passion pour la recherche de traitements et un remède avant que la FTD n'affecte une autre génération.

Headshots / Kim Pang Torres 3

Kimberley Pang Torres | Vice-président

Skillman, New Jersey
Kimberly est une professionnelle de la chaîne d'approvisionnement chez Johnson & Johnson avec plus de 15 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie des soins de santé. Tout au long de sa carrière, elle a occupé des postes de direction dans les domaines de l'approvisionnement, de la planification et de la distribution au sein des segments J&J Pharmaceutical et Consumer Products. La mère de Kim, Jackie, a reçu un diagnostic de bvFTD en février 2017, quelques jours seulement avant son 61e anniversaire. Peu de temps après le diagnostic de Jackie, la famille Pang Torres est devenue une équipe active de collecte de fonds de base de l'AFTD par le biais des campagnes du marathon de Philadelphie et de Food for Thought. Avec une passion pour les gens et la communauté, Kim espère que son travail au sein du conseil d'administration de l'AFTD aidera à donner de l'espoir à d'autres familles confrontées à un diagnostic de DFT.

Brian Rose

Brian Rose | Trésorier

New York, NY
Brian est responsable des relations institutionnelles au Credit Suisse. En plus d'avoir de l'expérience dans la gestion des relations avec les cadres supérieurs de grandes institutions financières, il possède une expertise dans l'analyse des états financiers, la budgétisation et l'analyse des dépenses en immobilisations. La mère de Brian est atteinte de FTD et il est devenu un fervent partisan de l'AFTD en organisant des événements réussis pour la campagne Food for Thought de l'AFTD et en siégeant au comité de planification Hope Rising. Il continue de rechercher les meilleures pratiques auprès de contacts philanthropiques pour sensibiliser FTD et acquérir des connaissances utilisables pour la collecte de fonds et la gouvernance.

Kacy Kunesh 2017

Kacy Kunesh | Secrétaire-archiviste

Austin, Texas
Kacy est une consultante en affaires spécialisée dans les communications, la croissance stratégique, les ventes et le marketing. Sa carrière internationale, combinée à sa passion de l'aventurière, l'a amenée dans 32 pays. Le parcours de soignante de Kacy s'étend sur 12 ans, commençant lorsque sa mère a enduré quatre ans et demi d'erreurs de diagnostic avant de recevoir un diagnostic de bvFTD. Kacy a joué des rôles bénévoles clés dans le programme Partners in FTD Care de l'AFTD, notre 5K à Austin et notre groupe de soutien Facebook pour jeunes adultes, et s'exprime publiquement pour plaider en faveur d'une plus grande sensibilisation à FTD et aux besoins des soignants. Elle a rejoint le conseil d'administration de l'AFTD en 2017.

Headshots / image

Halima Amjad, M.D., Ph.D.

Laurier, M.D.
Halima est professeure adjointe de médecine à la faculté de médecine de l'Université Johns Hopkins dans la division de médecine gériatrique et de gérontologie. Le Dr Amjad a obtenu son diplôme de médecine de l'Université Drexel, suivi d'une résidence en médecine interne à l'hôpital Yale New Haven et d'une bourse de recherche en médecine gériatrique et gérontologie à l'Université Johns Hopkins. Sa carrière se concentre sur les soins aux personnes atteintes de démence, éclairée par le diagnostic d'aphasie progressive primaire de son propre père en 2009. Elle voit actuellement des patients au Johns Hopkins Memory and Alzheimer's Treatment Center. La recherche financée par le NIH du Dr Amjad se concentre sur l'amélioration des soins aux personnes atteintes de démence ; ses intérêts de recherche comprennent la compréhension des résultats de la démence non diagnostiquée, l'optimisation du diagnostic et des soins en temps opportun et l'amélioration des services de santé fournis aux patients et aux familles vivant avec la démence.

Headshots / image

Gail Andersen

Jacksonville Beach, Floride
Gail est retraitée de Procter & Gamble après une carrière de 31 ans. Plus récemment, elle a occupé le poste de directrice associée de l'innovation. Le mari de Gail est décédé en 2012 à l'âge de 56 ans avec bvFTD et ALS. Mme Andersen apporte au conseil une expérience importante en planification stratégique et en gestion de projet. Elle a fait partie du groupe de travail de l'AFTD pour les familles avec enfants, et elle et ses enfants ont organisé plusieurs collectes de fonds pour l'AFTD. Elle s'intéresse beaucoup à la recherche. Mme Andersen a été présidente du conseil d'administration de l'AFTD de 2016 à 2020.

Chris Barrow of JPMorgan/Chase, Philadelphia, PA.  Photo / Curt Hudson

Christian Barrow

Montreal, Quebec
Christian est directeur exécutif au sein de l'équipe bancaire des sciences de la vie de JP Morgan, où il aide les organisations de biotechnologie, de pharmacie spécialisée, de pharmacie spécialisée, de dispositifs médicaux, de technologie médicale, de diagnostic médical et de recherche sous contrat à accéder aux ressources bancaires commerciales et d'investissement bien connues de JP Morgan. Il a plus de 25 ans d'expérience dans le secteur des services financiers avec des rôles allant de la comptabilité publique au secteur bancaire.

Rita Choula

Rita Choula, M.A.

Beltsville, MD
Rita est directrice de la prestation de soins à l'AARP Public Policy Institute, où elle gère et fournit une expertise de contenu sur les initiatives de prestation de soins familiaux, spécifiquement axées sur l'identification et le soutien des besoins des aidants familiaux multiculturels. La mère de Rita a reçu un diagnostic de variante comportementale FTD (bvFTD) et est décédée en octobre 2020. Rita comprend l'équilibre que doivent assumer les personnes dont les proches sont touchés par la FTD - ayant été la soignante de sa mère pendant plusieurs années, tout en travaillant à temps plein et élever deux jeunes enfants. Elle a rejoint le conseil d'administration de l'AFTD en 2021.

Headshots / Helen-Ann Comstock 1

Helen-Ann Comstock

Perkasie, Pennsylvanie
Helen-Ann est la fondatrice de l'AFTD. Son mari, Craig, a reçu un diagnostic de FTD à 44 ans en 1978 et est décédé sept ans plus tard. Afin d'augmenter le financement de la recherche sur la dégénérescence frontotemporale et de fournir des informations et un soutien aux personnes aux prises avec la FTD, Mme Comstock a formé l'AFTD en 2002 et a présidé son conseil d'administration jusqu'en 2010. Mme Comstock continue de diriger les efforts internationaux de l'organisation et sert aux comités exécutif et de gouvernance. Le programme de subventions de répit et de voyage Comstock est nommé en son honneur et en la fondation qu'elle a jetée pour l'organisation.

Sandra Grow 2

Sandra Grandir

Massillon, Ohio
Sandra est une infirmière autorisée avec près de quatre décennies d'expérience; elle travaille actuellement à temps partiel comme infirmière de qualité au Ohio Anesthesia Group. En 2007, son mari Karl - un ancien contrôleur de la circulation aérienne de l'US Air Force et de la Réserve de l'Air Force et un postier américain - a reçu un diagnostic de FTD. L'implication de Sandra auprès de l'AFTD remonte à près de 10 ans. Elle a co-animé un groupe de soutien à Akron, co-présenté un webinaire avec Sharon Denny, directrice du programme AFTD, et est actuellement conseillère auprès de l'initiative Partners in FTD Care de l'AFTD.

Hedaya

Daniel Hedaya

New York, NY
Daniel est le Managing Partner de la société d'investissement immobilier DAX Real Estate. Lorsqu'il était adolescent, son père était atteint de FTD; il est décédé en 2009. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une perte douloureuse, le père de Daniel l'a inspiré à s'impliquer intimement dans l'AFTD et a motivé sa motivation pour une plus grande sensibilisation, la recherche et l'espoir d'une guérison. Daniel a mené une campagne populaire réussie et a été coprésident de l'association Hope Rising de l'AFTD.

Kristin Holloway headshot

Kristin Holloway

San Francisco, Californie
Kristin est une professionnelle des communications avec plus de 10 ans d'expérience en tant que stratège pour des entreprises technologiques à forte croissance. En plus d'avoir de l'expérience en relations publiques technologiques, son expertise comprend les relations avec les médias et les analystes, la gestion de campagnes, les communications stratégiques et de crise, la gestion de projets et la création de contenu technique. En avril 2017, son mari Lee Holloway, un pionnier de la technologie doué qui a cofondé la société de sécurité et de performance Web Cloudflare, a été diagnostiqué avec la variante comportementale FTD. Pour honorer l'héritage de Lee, Kristin et la famille Holloway ont créé le Fonds Holloway pour l'aide et l'espoir à l'AFTD en 2019. Kristin est passionnée par la collecte de fonds pour aider les autres dans leur parcours FTD, ainsi que par le soutien à la recherche de pointe pour faire progresser les traitements. .

Jary Larsen 2019 squared

Jary Larsen, PhD

San Francisco, Californie
Jary est un neuropsychologue agréé et est actuellement affilié au service de neuropsychologie de l'Université de Californie à San Francisco / Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (UCSF / ZSFG) et au laboratoire de neuropsychologie cognitive et d'électrophysiologie (CNE) de VA Northern California, où il a a également été président du comité d'examen institutionnel (comité d'éthique de la recherche humaine) depuis 2012. Il a précédemment siégé au conseil d'administration de l'AFTD de 2010 à 2017 et a été président du conseil d'administration de 2013 à 2016. Le frère de Jary, qui a reçu un diagnostic de DFT en 2006, est décédé en 2013.

Joseph Marquez

Joseph Marquez, MD

Seattle, WA
Joseph est urologue et fondateur et chef du département d'urologie d'un grand cabinet multispécialisé à Seattle, WA. Il est titulaire d'un diplôme de premier cycle de l'Université de Californie à Santa Cruz et d'un doctorat en médecine de l'Université Northwestern, et il a effectué son internat et sa résidence en urologie à l'Université du Minnesota. Joseph a été reconnu pour avoir été le pionnier de nombreuses technologies et techniques émergentes pour les traitements urologiques et de la prostate. FTD a eu un impact significatif sur sa vie, affectant sa tante bien-aimée, décédée en 2017. Il était reconnaissant d'avoir une formation médicale qui lui a permis de guider sa tante et sa famille tout au long du parcours de bvFTD progressif, en la connectant avec et inscrivant des membres de la famille à des essais thérapeutiques et observationnels à l'Université de Californie à San Francisco. Il a rejoint le conseil d'administration de l'AFTD en 2021.

Headshots / image

Kathy Newhouse Mele

New York, NY
Kathy a été enseignante au primaire et enseignante d'anglais langue seconde. Elle est actuellement présidente de la Fondation Angel Shine, qui soutient l'enseignement de la danse. D'autres intérêts dans le monde à but non lucratif incluent le National Dance Institute, qui propose des cours de danse dans les écoles publiques de New York ; The Paper Bag Players, une troupe de théâtre pour enfants; et Citizens Committee for Children, une organisation de défense des droits de la ville et de l'État. Elle est passionnée par le soutien de l'AFTD parce que sa mère souffrait d'aphasie progressive primaire (APP) depuis plus de 15 ans et qu'un oncle non apparenté est également décédé de l'APP.

Donald Newhouse cropped

Donald E. Newhouse

Lambertville, New Jersey
Donald E. Newhouse et son frère Samuel I. Newhouse Jr. (connu sous le nom de Si) étaient des cadres supérieurs chez Advance Publications et Newhouse Broadcasting Co. Donald a pris sa retraite en 2019. Il est devenu membre du conseil d'administration de l'American Newspaper Publishers Association en 1983. L'ANPA a changé son nom en Newspaper Association of America et M. Newhouse en a été le président de 1993 à 1994. Il a été élu au conseil d'administration de l'Associated Press en 1988 et a été président du conseil d'administration de l'AP de 1997 à 2001. Il a siégé au conseil d'administration de l'Université de Syracuse et est administrateur honoraire. M. Newhouse était marié à Susan Marley en 1955 ; elle a reçu un diagnostic d'aphasie progressive primaire (APP) en 2003 et est décédée en 2015. Si Newhouse a reçu un diagnostic d'APP en 2014 et est décédée en 2017. Généreux donateur et bénévole engagé de l'AFTD, M. Newhouse a joué un rôle central dans le Hope Rising Benefit de l'AFTD depuis sa création en 2016.

Kristin Schneeman Headshot

Kristin Schneeman

Westport, Connecticut
Kristin est directrice du groupe de réflexion FasterCures de Washington, DC, une filiale du Milken Institute. Kristin est principalement responsable du portefeuille de projets et d'activités d'innovation de FasterCures, axé sur les meilleures pratiques dans le financement et la conduite de la recherche médicale, et sur des collaborations innovantes pour faire progresser les traitements et les remèdes pour une gamme de maladies et d'affections. Son travail se concentre sur les meilleures pratiques en matière de financement et de conduite de la recherche médicale, ainsi que sur la promotion de collaborations innovantes pour faire avancer la recherche. Le père de Kristin a reçu un diagnostic de DFT et est décédé en 2007. Elle a rejoint le comité de recherche du conseil d'administration de l'AFTD en 2019 et est devenue membre du conseil d'administration de l'AFTD en 2021.

Michael Stowell 1

Michael Stowell, Ph.D.

Boulder, CO
Michael est professeur agrégé de biologie moléculaire à l'Université du Colorado, Boulder. Son laboratoire se concentre sur l'étude des structures moléculaires et supramoléculaires qui facilitent la communication entre les neurones au niveau de la synapse chimique. Le beau-père de Michael est décédé de bvFTD; il est un sponsor de longue date de la conférence annuelle de l'AFTD et depuis l'été 2016, il siège au comité de recherche de l'AFTD.

Board of Directors

Headshots / image

David Pfeifer | Chair

Denver, CO
David is a graduate of the University of Cincinnati College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning. He is president of Anderson Mason Dale Architects in Denver. In his 25 years with the firm he has led teams designing a diverse array of projects with an emphasis on university and college science and research facilities, some of which have won awards for outstanding design. David’s wife, Cathy, was diagnosed with FTD in 2014 at the age of 47. David placed Cathy in an assisted living facility early in 2016, and she passed away December 2016. Their children were 17, 15 and 13 at the time. A host and collaborator in multiple Denver AFTD events, as well as our Hope Rising Benefit and other national efforts, David brings to AFTD a passion for finding treatments and a cure before FTD can affect another generation.

Headshots / Kim Pang Torres 3

Kimberly Pang Torres | Vice Chair

Skillman, NJ
Kimberly is a Supply Chain Professional at Johnson & Johnson with over 15 years of experience in the health care industry. Throughout her career, she has held leadership positions in Procurement, Planning and Distribution within the J&J Pharmaceutical and Consumer Products segments. Kim’s mom, Jackie, was diagnosed with bvFTD in February 2017, just a few days before her 61st birthday. Shortly after Jackie’s diagnosis, the Pang Torres Family became an active AFTD grassroots fundraising team through the Philadelphia Marathon and Food for Thought campaigns. With a passion for people and community, Kim hopes that her work on the AFTD Board will help to provide hope for other families facing an FTD diagnosis.

Brian Rose

Brian Rose | Treasurer

New York, NY
Brian is an Institutional Relationship Manager at Credit Suisse. In addition to having experience managing relationship with senior executives of large financial institutions, he has expertise is in financial statement analysis, budgeting and capital expenditure analysis. Brian’s mother is afflicted with FTD, and he has become an avid AFTD supporter by organizing successful events for AFTD’s Food for Thought campaign as well as serving on the Hope Rising planning committee. He continues to seek out best practices from philanthropic contacts to raise FTD awareness and gain usable knowledge for fundraising and governance.

Kacy Kunesh 2017

Kacy Kunesh | Recording Secretary

Austin, TX
Kacy is a business consultant with expertise in communications, strategic growth, sales and marketing. Her international career, combined with being an avid adventurer, has taken her to 32 countries. Kacy’s caregiver journey spans 12 years, starting as her mother endured four and a half years of misdiagnoses before being diagnosed with bvFTD. Kacy has played key volunteer roles in the AFTD’s Partners in FTD Care program, our 5K in Austin, and our Young Adult Facebook Support Group, and speaks publicly to advocate for greater awareness of FTD and the needs of caregivers. She joined AFTD’s Board in 2017.

Headshots / image

Halima Amjad, MD, PhD

Laurel, MD
Halima is assistant professor of medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in the Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology. Dr. Amjad earned her medical degree from Drexel University, followed by residency in internal medicine at Yale New Haven Hospital and fellowship in geriatric medicine and gerontology at Johns Hopkins University. Her career focuses on the care of people living with dementia, informed by her own father’s diagnosis of primary progressive aphasia in 2009. She currently sees patients at the Johns Hopkins Memory and Alzheimer’s Treatment Center. Dr. Amjad’s NIH-funded research focuses on improving the care of individuals with dementia; her research interests include understanding outcomes in undiagnosed dementia, optimizing timely diagnosis and care, and improving health services provided to patients and families living with dementia.

Headshots / image

Gail Andersen

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Gail is retired from Procter & Gamble after a 31-year career. Most recently, she served as Associate Director of Innovation. Gail’s husband died in 2012 at the age of 56 with bvFTD and ALS. Ms. Andersen brings important experience in strategic planning and project management to the board. She served on AFTD’s Task Force for Families with Children, and she and her children have held several fundraisers for AFTD. She is very interested in research. Ms. Andersen served as AFTD’s Board Chair from 2016-2020.

Chris Barrow of JPMorgan/Chase, Philadelphia, PA.  Photo / Curt Hudson

Christian Barrow

Montreal, Quebec
Christian is an Executive Director with J.P. Morgan’s Life Sciences banking team, where he helps biotech, specialty pharmaceutical, specialty pharmacy, medical device, medtech, medical diagnostics and contract research organizations gain access to J.P. Morgan’s well-known healthcare commercial and investment banking resources. He has over 25 years of experience in the financial services industry with roles that have spanned public accounting to banking.

Rita Choula

Rita Choula, M.A.

Beltsville, MD
Rita is the Director of Caregiving with the AARP Public Policy Institute, where she manages and provides content expertise on family caregiving initiatives, specifically focused on identifying and supporting the needs of multicultural family caregivers. Rita’s mother was diagnosed with behavioral variant FTD (bvFTD) and passed away in October 2020. Rita understands the balancing act that people with loved ones affected by FTD must take on— having served as her mother’s caregiver for several years, while working full time and parenting two young children. She joined AFTD’s Board in 2021.

Headshots / Helen-Ann Comstock 1

Helen-Ann Comstock

Perkasie, PA
Helen-Ann is the founder of AFTD. Her husband, Craig, was diagnosed with FTD at age 44 in 1978 and died seven years later. In order to increase research funding for frontotemporal degeneration and to provide information and support to those coping with FTD, Ms. Comstock formed the AFTD in 2002 and served as its board chair until 2010. Ms. Comstock continues to spearhead the organization’s international efforts and serves on the Executive and Governance Committees. The Comstock Respite and Travel Grant Program is named in her honor and the foundation she has laid for the organization.

Sandra Grow 2

Sandra Grow

Massillon, OH
Sandra is a registered nurse with nearly four decades of experience; she currently works part time as a Quality Nurse at the Ohio Anesthesia Group. In 2007, her husband Karl – a former air traffic controller in the U.S. Air Force and Air Force Reserve and a U.S. postal worker – was diagnosed with FTD. Sandra’s involvement with AFTD dates back nearly 10 years. She has co-facilitated a support group in Akron, co-presented a webinar with AFTD Program Director Sharon Denny, and is a current advisor to AFTD’s Partners in FTD Care initiative.

Hedaya

Daniel Hedaya

New York, NY
Daniel is the Managing Partner of the real estate investment company DAX Real Estate. When he was in his teenage years, his father was afflicted with FTD; he passed away in 2009. Though this was a painful loss, Daniel’s father has inspired him to become intimately involved with AFTD, and drives his motivation for greater awareness, research, and the hope for a cure. Daniel has led a successful grassroots campaign and served as co-chair for AFTD’s Hope Rising benefit.

Kristin Holloway headshot

Kristin Holloway

San Francisco, CA
Kristin is a communications professional with more than 10 years of experience as a strategist for high-growth technology companies. In addition to having experience in technology public relations, her expertise includes media and analyst relations, campaign management, strategic and crisis communications, project management and technical content creation. In April 2017, her husband Lee Holloway, a gifted technology pioneer who co-founded the web security and performance company Cloudflare, was diagnosed with behavioral variant FTD. To honor Lee’s legacy, Kristin and the Holloway family established The Holloway Fund for Help and Hope at AFTD in 2019. Kristin is passionate about raising funds to help others as they navigate their FTD journey, as well as supporting cutting-edge research to advance treatments.

Jary Larsen 2019 squared

Jary Larsen, PhD

San Francisco, CA
Jary is a licensed neuropsychologist and currently is affiliated with the Neuropsychology Service at the University of California, San Francisco/Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (UCSF/ZSFG) and the Cognitive Neuropsychology and Electrophysiology (CNE) Laboratory at VA Northern California, where he has also served as the Chair of the Institutional Review Board (human research ethics board) since 2012. He previously served on the AFTD Board from 2010-2017, and was Board Chair from 2013-2016. Jary’s brother, who was diagnosed with FTD in 2006, died in 2013.

Joseph Marquez

Joseph Marquez, M.D.

Seattle, WA
Joseph is a urologist and founder and head of the Department of Urology at a large multispecialty practice in Seattle, WA. He has an undergraduate degree from the University of California, Santa Cruz and his M.D. from Northwestern University, and he completed his internship and residency in urology at the University of Minnesota. Joseph has been recognized for pioneering many emergent technologies and techniques for urologic and prostate treatments. FTD has had a significant impact on his life, affecting his beloved aunt, who passed away in 2017. He was grateful to have a medical background that enabled him to shepherd his aunt and his family through the journey of progressive bvFTD, connecting her with and enrolling family members in therapeutic and observational trials at the University of California, San Francisco. He joined AFTD’s Board in 2021.

Headshots / image

Kathy Newhouse Mele

New York, NY
Kathy has been an elementary school teacher and a teacher of English as a second language. Currently she is chair of the Angel Shine Foundation, which supports dance education. Other interests in the nonprofit world include National Dance Institute, providing dance classes in the New York City public schools; The Paper Bag Players, a children’s theater group; and Citizens Committee for Children, a city and state advocacy organization. She is passionate about supporting AFTD because her mother suffered from primary progressive aphasia (PPA) for more than 15 years, and an unrelated uncle passed away from PPA as well.

Donald Newhouse cropped

Donald E. Newhouse

Lambertville, NJ
Donald E. Newhouse and his brother Samuel I. Newhouse Jr. (known as Si) were senior executives at Advance Publications and Newhouse Broadcasting Co. Donald retired in 2019. He became a member of the Board of the American Newspaper Publishers Association in 1983. The ANPA changed its name to the Newspaper Association of America and Mr. Newhouse served as its Chairman from 1993 to 1994. He was elected to the Board of Directors of the Associated Press in 1988, and served as Chairman of the AP’s Board from 1997 to 2001. He served on the Syracuse University Board of Trustees, and is an Honorary Trustee. Mr. Newhouse was married to Susan Marley in 1955; she was diagnosed with primary progressive aphasia (PPA) in 2003, and died in 2015. Si Newhouse was diagnosed with PPA in 2014 and died in 2017. A generous donor and committed AFTD volunteer, Mr. Newhouse has played a pivotal lead role in the AFTD’s Hope Rising Benefit since its inception in 2016.

Kristin Schneeman Headshot

Kristin Schneeman

Westport, CT
Kristin is a Director at the Washington, D.C. think tank FasterCures, a subsidiary of the Milken Institute. Kristin has primary responsibility for FasterCures’ innovation portfolio of projects and activities, focused on best practices in the funding and conduct of medical research, and innovative collaborations to advance treatments and cures for a range of diseases and conditions. Her work focuses on best practices in the funding and conduct of medical research, as well as fostering innovative collaborations to advance research. Kristin’s father was diagnosed with FTD and passed away in 2007. She joined the AFTD Board’s Research Committee in 2019 and became an AFTD Board member in 2021.

Michael Stowell 1

Michael Stowell, PhD

Boulder, CO
Michael is an Associate Professor of molecular biology at the University of Colorado, Boulder. His laboratory focuses on study of the molecular and supramolecular structures that facilitate communication between neurons at the chemical synapse. Michael’s stepfather died of bvFTD; he has been a long-time sponsor of AFTD’s annual conference and since the summer of 2016 has served on AFTD’s Research Committee.