Grants Funded

Pilot Grant Awards | Drug Discovery Grants Awarded | Postdoctoral Fellow Awards

Pilot Grant Awards


2016 Basic Science María Llorens-Martín, PhD Center for Networked Biomedical Research Tau and adult neurogenesis. Therapeutic potential for frontotemporal degeneration

2016 Clinical Research:

Susan Marcus Memorial Award

Paola Caroppo, MD, PhD IRCCS Foundation Carlo Besta Neurological Institute Detection of misfolded TDP-43 protein in CSF and plasma of GRN and C9orf72 mutation carriers
2015 Basic Science Dr. Sandra Almeida University of Massachusetts Medical School Reducing repeat toxicity in iPSC cortical neurons of C9ORF72 FTD patients
Clinical Research:
Susan Marcus Memorial Award
Roy Hamilton, MD University of Pennsylvania Transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) as a treatment for Primary Progressive Aphasia
Basic Science
Thomas Kukar Emory University School of Medicine Identification of the signaling receptor that mediates the neurotrophic activity of Progranulin (PGRN)
Clinical Research:
Susan Marcus Memorial Award
Jennifer Yokoyama
Susan Marcus Memorial Fund Clinical Research Pilot Award
University of California, San Francisco RNA signatures of frontotemporal dementia and ALS due to C9ORF72 expansion
2013 Emily Rogalski Northwestern University Internet-based speech therapy: Improving quality of life and access to care
2011 Fenghua Hu Cornell University Signaling mechanisms of progranulin
2010 Stephanie Cosentino Columbia University Early indicators and modifiers of age of onset of FTD
2010 Stephen Strittmatter Yale University Imaging the Role of Progranulin Interaction with Sortilin in Frontotemporal Lobar Degeneration
2009 John Van Swieten Erasmus Medical Center Rotterdam Resting-State functional MRI in presymptomatic mutation carriers of MAPT or PGRN mutation
2008 Mark A. Gluck Rutgers University Insensitivity to Negative (Penalizing) Feedback for Inappropriate Behaviors in FTD Linked to Orbito-Frontal Dysfunction
2008 Rosa Rademakers Mayo Clinic-Jacksonville MicroRNA dysregulation in frontotemporal lobar degeneration
2007 Marc Cruts University of Antwerp Gene identification in a novel Mendelian FTLD-MND locus
2007 Paul Taylor University of Pennsylvania Assessing the molecular genetics of TDP-43-related neurodegeneration using a Drosophila model
2006 Blair Leavitt & Ian Mackenzie University of British Colombia Generation of a Mouse Model of Familial FTD caused by Progranulin Mutations
2005 Eileen Bigio, MD Northwestern University To study the ubiquitinated proteins that are found in the “inclusions” that characterize brain cells in FTLD-MND

Drug Discovery Grants Awarded

2015 Mari DeMarco University of British Columbia Quantitation of TDP-43 isoforms in CSF by mass spectroscopy
2015 Edward Huey Columbia University Low-dose lithium for the treatment of behavioral symptoms of FTD
2015 Keith St. Lawrence Lawson Health Research Institute The role of perfusion MRI in improving the diagnosis of FTD subtypes and longitudinal monitoring of disease progression
2014 Charlotte Teunissen VU Medical Center in Amsterdam Novel Diagnostic CSF Biomarkers for Pathological Subtypes of FTD
2014 Matthew Disney The Scripps Research Institute Lead Optimization and Pre-clinical Testing of Small Molecules that Modulate Toxicity of cFTD/ALS
2013 Jeffrey Rothstein Johns Hopkins University, School of Medicine FTD C9ORF72 Based Biomarkers for Antisense-based Drug Discovery Validation
2013 Donald Lo Center for Drug Discovery and Department of Neurobiology Brain slice screen for microRNA-targeted drug lead candidates for tau-associated FTD
2012 Jeffrey Rothstein Johns Hopkins University, School of Medicine Development of Antisense therapy and Therapeutic biomarker for C9orf72 FTD/ALS mutation patients
2012 Nigel Cairns Washington University, St. Louis Restoring progranulin in frontotemporal disease
2012 W. Huang Yu Columbia University Medical Center Development of small molecule enhancers of autophagy for the clearance of protein aggregates and treatment of FTD
2011 Adam Boxer University of California, San Francisco Biomarker Optimization for Progranulin Trials
2011 William Seeley University of California, San Francisco Dynamic disease-monitoring network biomarkers for tracking frontotemporal dementia
2011 Charlotte Teunissen VU University Medical Center Identification of novel discriminatory CSF biomarkers for different FTD subtypes by proteomics
2010 William Hu Emory University School of Medicine CSF Biomarkers of FTLD-TDP and FTLD-Tau — A Multi-Center Study
2010 Allen Roses Duke University Fine-mapping and characterization of genetic biomarkers that facilitate the acceleration of drug discovery for frontotemporal dementias
2010 Marcel M. Verbeek Stichting Katholieke Universiteit TDP-43 and tau as cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers to discriminate frontotemporal dementia subtypes
2010 Victor Villemagne Austin Health [18F]-THK523, a novel in vivo tau imaging agent
2009 Einar M. Sigurdsson New York University School of Medicine Passive Immunotherapy for Frontotemporal Dementia
2009 Philip Van Damme VIB Drug Discovery for Progranulin-Mediated Frontotemporal Lobar Degeneration
2009 W. Huang Yu Columbia University Tau Clearance by Autophagy
2008 Adam Boxer University of California San Francisco A Pilot Clinical Trial of NAP (AL-108) for Corticobasal Degeneration and Frontotemporal Lobar Degeneration with Predicted Corticobasal Degeneration Pathology
2008 Gabriela Chiosis Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center Hsp90 inhibitors in tauopathies: in vivo pre-clinical development
2008 Virginia Y.-M. Lee University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine Frontotemporal Lobar Degeneration (FTLD) Biomarker Assays
2007 Ben Bahr University of North Carolina at Pembroke In vitro testing of new lysosomal modulatory drugs for reducing tau aggregates in a hippocampal slice model
2007 Einar M. Sigurdsson NYU School of Medicine Clearance of Pathological Tau Conformers
2007 Tara Spires-Jones Massachusetts General Hospital Sirtuins as modifiers of neurodegeneration in a mouse model of frontotemporal dementia
2007 David Vocadlo Simon Fraser University Optimization of Pharmacokinetic and Pharmacodynamic Properties of a Small Molecule O-glycosylation Inhibitor for Treatment of Frontotemporal Dementia

Postdoctoral Fellow Awards

2017 Kathryn Bowles, PhD Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai Identification and validation of novel MAPT splicing factors and RNA-binding proteins
2017 Joseph-Patrick Clarke, PhD University of Pittsburgh Nucleocytoplasmic transport defects perturb granular flux in FTD
2015 Maya Lichtenstein University of British Columbia Developing a tool for discriminating social cognition deficits in bvFTD from that of depression
2014 Hilary Archbold University of Michigan RNA dysfunction in Frontotemporal Dementia
2013 M. Catarina Silva Harvard University Chemical neurobiology of tauopathy patient iPSC-derived neurons
2011 Alexandra Nicholson Mayo Clinic-Jacksonville TMEM106B and related family members in progranulin biology
2009 Todd Cohen University of Pennsylvania TDP-43 Acetylation and its Link to Frontotemporal Dementia